Vintage-Era Patchwork

A few years ago, I began a project using a patchwork block found in Jinny Beyer’s Quilter’s Album of Blocks & Borders. The block was attributed to the Ladies’ Arts Company and was first published in 1898 as Twin Sisters. Other names for this patchwork block include Water Wheel, Mill Wheel, Right and Left, or Whirlwind.

I decided that this project would resemble a traditional vintage-era quilt so I selected pastel and light cotton prints from my stash.  The fabrics chosen include scraps from my grandmother’s scrap box that I inherited. I also used some of the fabrics my mother gave me. 

Water Wheel blocksI have made about 30 blocks so far and have more blocks to make. These blocks are now on my design wall to determine layout and the remaining blocks still needed. 

The blocks will be sewn in a straight set and the quilt will have sashing and cornerposts, plus a border. Don’t ask what colors I will use though — I’m not there yet!

See the small dot on each block? I use a simple block placement marking system when I am ready for the blocks to be sewn together. A small piece of masking tape with a notation on the row and column helps to track the block order. My marking system is simply a  Row-Column notation. For example:  2-4 translates to Row 2, Column 4.  Works every time!

4 Responses to “Vintage-Era Patchwork”

  1. samantha Says:

    That’s a gorgeous set of blocks, and what a simple, smart row marking system!

  2. Granny Fran Says:

    Those simple old patterns make such wonderful quilts. Yours are lovely!

  3. Linda S. Says:

    I have so enjoyed wandering through your site this morning. What talent you have. I especially enjoy the idea of the Remembrance Quilt.

  4. marisa Says:

    This is a cool notation system. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

