Bountiful Blessings

In December I began a gift quilt using a festive Laurel Burch center. This was a purchased fabric, intended for a lap quilt I wanted to create for a young couple.

I fell in love with the colors and the wonderful design work. And of course, the printed messages which were mindful of holiday cheer and wonder:

  • A Bounty of Bliss and Blessings
  • Many Moments of Magic Making
  • A Treasure Trove of Treats
  • A Season of Songs and Savories

I pulled prints and hand dyed cottons from my stash. I also bought two companion prints for this quilt’s borders. I love the black squiggly worms and those wacky evergreens! Worms and evergreens…what a crazy combo for a quilt, but that’s the Laurel Burch style.

I used my longarm for this quilt and custom-stitched free-form feathers, in the ditch lines, a squared meandering geometric, specific designs, squiggly lines, and basic meandering.

The finished quilt, Bountiful Blessings, finished at 60″ square. I had it ready to wrap up for a Christmas gift just in time!

They loved the quilt and I loved making the quilt — a good holiday gift for us all.

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “Bountiful Blessings”

  1. rlbates Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  2. clairz Says:

    Love the fabric, and love the quilt. Isn’t the fabric by Laurel Burch, though, rather than Paula?

  3. Lynn Says:

    Thanks so much, RL. It was fun to make!

  4. Lynn Says:

    Clair, thanks SO much for pointing this out!! (Gonna change my dumb-ness now!)

  5. virtualquilter Says:

    The panel is stunning, and the finished quilt is just great!

    Wishing you a wonderful year.

    Judy B

  6. Lura George Says:

    I thought that these were very bright, cheerful, and country designed, which I love these. Thx for sharing.

  7. Lynn Says:

    Thanks Judy. Hope you enjoy New Year’s Day and I wish you a fantastic 2011!

  8. Lynn Says:

    Thanks, Lura! Happy new year!

  9. Gayle Says:

    Hi-I was so glad to see this recent post. I just mentioned one of your posts from 2008 on my post today. I hope all is well. :-)Gayle

  10. Lynn Says:

    Hi Gayle! How is everything? Made a quilted-house yet?? ;-) Life is good, gas is expensive, but I don’t need to drive anywhere! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

